Home APQO Conferences APQO Membership Admin APQO Messages Newsletter APQO History Contact Us

minutes of the meeting :: winners ::announcements :: country report



After  more  than  half  a  century  of  finding their  place  in  the  field  of  quality,   women  will   now  finally be  given  recognition  for  quality  leadership.   Expected  to  be  the  first world award  specifically  for  women  quality professionals,  the  MMG  Medal  was  awarded  to  Prof. Tang  Xiofen  of  Shanghai, China.  Prof.  Tang  is  well-known  internationally  for  her  leadership in  quality  development  of  Shanghai  and  in  sharing  these  efforts  to the  rest of  the  world.  Among  many  nominees  for  the  award,  it  was  Prof.   Tang  who received  the  highest  points  of  the  criteria  set by  the  Board  of  Judges. She  is   currently  the  President  of  Shanghai  Association for  Quality  and  the  Vice  President  of  the Shanghai  Academy  for  Quality Management.  She  received  the MMG Medal award  at  the  13th  Asia Pacific Quality  Organization (APQO) Conference  held  in  Hanoi,  Vietnam  on  October  27-28, 2005. The  MMG  Medal   is   an  award bestowed on  Women  Professionals  for their  internationally  recognized excellence in quality advocacy and practice.

The  MMG  Medal   was  designed  to  honor  Dr.  Miflora  Minoza-Gatchalian (MMG), who  is  the  APQO Secretary General Emeritus  under  whose  leadership  the  APQO  was  conceived in  the  Philippines  in 1981 and  its  charter  approved  in  1985  in  Beijing China.  In  1981,  Dr.  Gatchalian,  as  President  of  the  Philippine  Society  for Quality, Inc  (PSQ, Inc),  led  the  first  International  Quality  Conference  in  the Philippines. This  was  supported  by  UNIDO  through  the  Department  of  Trade  and  Industry  and  the  Productivity  and  Development  Center.  There  were  fifteen  countries  from  the  Asia  Pacific region  that  attended  the  Conference and  they  unanimously  approved  the  creation  of  an  Ad  Hoc  Committee, Chaired by  Dr.  Gatchalian  to  pursue  the  Creation  of  the  Asia  Pacific Quality  Organization (APQO). With  the  support  of  the  American  Society  for  Quality (ASQ) under  the  leadership  of  Dr.  James  Harrington  and  the  late  General  Walt  L. Hurd,  the   APQO  Constitution  was  drafted  in  Mexico  in  1983 during  the  second  International  Quality  Conference. This  was  hosted  by   the  late  Senor  Agapito  Gonzalez Hernandez,  who  was  then  President  of   the Mexican  Institute  for  Quality (IMECCA). Then   through  the  efforts  of  Dr.  Yuanzhang  Liu,  the  third  International  Quality   Conference  was  held  in Beijing, China  in  1985.  This   is  a  historic  event  as  this  was  also  the  first  time  that  China  opened  its  doors  to  the  outside  world. 

Thirteen  Asia  Pacific  countries  approved   the  APQO Charter and  from  then  on with  Dr.  Gatchalian  as  Secretary General,  the  member  countries  rotated  the  hosting of  the  biennial  and  later  annual  APQO Conferences.   After  the  death  of   General  Walter  L  Hurd,  the  Walt  L.  Hurd  Foundation  (WLHF)  was  formed  to  honor  a  man  whose support  for  APQO  enabled  the  organization  to  survive  all  these  years.  The  APQO  Core Council  members  under  the  WLHF   created  the  MMG  Medal  Award  to  honor   Dr.  Gatchalian  when  she  retired  as  APQO  Secretary  General  after  almost  20  years  of  voluntary  service. 

During  these  years  Dr.  Gatchalian  published  quality  articles  and  books  and  traveled  internationally  in an  effort   to  promote  women’s  involvement  in  quality.  Such  efforts  was  also  recognized  by ASQ and  Dr.  Gatchalian  was  awarded  ASQ’s  Jack  Lancaster  Award  a  recognition  for  international  quality  achievements,  She  was  the  first  woman  and  first  Asian  to  receive  such  an  award.  

APQO  is  now  inviting  nominations  to  the  MMG  Medal.  The  criteria  for  candidature  can  be  obtained  from  the   APQO   Secretariat  at  email  address    in  the  care  of  current  APQO  Secretary General Ms.  Victoria  Vallestero  former  President  of  Quality  Improvement  Circles of  the  Philippines  and  current  member  of  the  PSQ  Board  of  Trustees . 




Asia Pacific Quality Organization © All rights reserved 2005