Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player




Armand V. Feigenbaum Lifetime Achievement Medal

17th APQO / SPA International Conference,
Marina Bay Sands, Singapore October 17-20, 2011

Congratulations to the first Armand V. Feigenbaum Lifetime Achievement Medal Awardee in recognition of his relentless pursuit of performance improvement and promoting the use of quality methodologies and principles as Research Professor of the Academy of Mathematics and System Sciences under the Academy of Sciences of China.

Dr. Yuanzhang Liu
Research Professor
Academy of Sciences of China

Yuanzhang Liu, Ph.D. Research Professor of the Academy of Mathematics and System Sciences under the Academy of Sciences of China.

Professor Liu was born in China, and received his higher education in Japan and U.S. in Mechanical Engineering, Economics and Operations Research. With these backgrounds he learned Quality Control from Professor Eugene Grant and Total Quality Control from Professor Kaoru Ishikawa in the early fifties of the last century. He has devoted himself to the promotion of Total Quality Management in China for more than fifty years during which time he has accomplished several “firsts”.

He  founded  the  first   Research   Group  of
TQM of China in 1957 within the Chinese Academy of Sciences. He opened the first Training Seminar on Quality Control in China in cooperation with the Ministry of Machinery Industry and the Ministry of Textile industry in 1957.

After the era of “Reform of economic system and Opening to the outside world”began , he fully used mass media in his work - being the first one to write a series of weekly articles to introduce quality control on “Workers Daily” in 1979, the first one to start a TV network program on TQM in 1979, the first one to host a TV program on service quality in 1986,t he first one to be editor-in-chief of “China Quality Management” for China Association of Quality. He was also the first one to be bestowed the title of National Model Worker, and the first one in quality profession to be elected deputy to the National People’s Congress. He headed the first Chinese delegation of quality management to visit U.S. in 1982, and the first and only one to speak to the joint session of the American Academy of Sciences and American Academy of Engineering during the visit on China’s quality management.

He has served many Chinese enterprises as adviser and solved many of their quality problems. In recognition of all his successful achievements in changing their view-point toward quality and way of quality management, he was been praised as the “ Father of Quality of China.”

His theory concerning the essence of quality in terms of combination of and balance between market value and use value makes him unique among quality professionals, and his ability of addressing Chinese line workers on quality by simple language makes him popular in Chinese companies.

He has the acquaintance of many foreign colleagues who have been beneficial to him and the quality of China as well. Dr. James Harrington is one of his close friends among them.

He has had good connections with the Chinese Government, so that many of his suggestions have been accepted such as “Quality Month”, “Quality Circle Activities,” and “Quality Engineer Certification.”

He was elected to the international Academy for Quality in 1995, and was elected to the Chinese Academy for Engineering in 2001.

He has written about 20 books and more than 300 articles. His most recent book, 《Memoir of Gratitude – My Quality Life》,was published in May 2011, in which he recorded his long career in quality management.

The first Armand V. Feigenbaum Lifetime Achievement Medal was presented to Professor Yuanzhang Liu, Research Professor of the Academy of Math and System Sciences, Shanghai, China at the Awards Ceremony of the 8th China Shanghai International Symposium on Quality & The Forum of International Academy for Quality, November 1, 2011.

Professor Yuanzhang Liu on the left, Dr. Charles A. Aubrey II, VP, Anderson Pharmaceutical Packaging, in the middle and Dr. H. James Harrington, CEO, Harrington Institute, on the right.



2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012